Corral Canyon Working Group Committee History

The Corral Canyon Working Group Committee was formed as a direct result of the major fire that occurred in November, 2007, in which more than 50 structures were lost. Under the guidance and leadership of LA County Fire Chief, P. Michael Freeman and in cooperation with the Los Angeles County Third District Office, the City of Malibu and the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department, nine Corral Canyon Residents were selected to serve on a committee with the goal of improving public safety and 1st response efforts during emergencies both in Corral Canyon and the neighboring canyons in the Santa Monica Mountains.

The Committee has made considerable progress over the years and is credited with significant policy changes within the County as well as City with regards to wild fire procedures. In addition, this group was instrumental in improving current road conditions throughout Corral Canyon, increased law enforcement patrols as well as applying necessary pressure on the County to adopt the new parking and Red Flag Code Violations, which prohibits parking and access to the top of Corral Canyon during red flag conditions.

Working Group Founding Members

Top Row (L-R): Mike Sanson, Brian Weiss, Denis Rodgerson, Chief Joseph Graham (LACOFD), Eric Webber (LACOFD), Brad Davis (Emergency Services, City of Malibu), Captain Tom Martin (LACO Sheriff), Matt Haines, Paul J. Morra, Bob Bailey.
Bottom Row (L-R): Fred Ward, Judi Pace, Susan Nissman (LACO 3rd District Field Deputy), Fire Chief P. Michael Freeman (LACOFD), Christine Rodgerson and Cynthia Scott (LACO 3rd District Field Deputy).
Not Pictured Maria Grycan (LACOFD), Lt. Scott Chew (LACO Sheriff), Jim Thorson (City Manager, City of Malibu).